Blood Law


To stop a vampire killer, she’ll have to slay her own demons first.

A provocative and savvy vampire, Alexandra Sabian moves to the sleepy hamlet of Jefferson, Mississippi—population 6,000, nearly one-half vampires—to escape the demons lurking in her past. As an Enforcer for the Federal Bureau of Preternatural Investigation (FBPI), Alex must maintain the uneasy peace between her kind and humans, including Jefferson’s bigoted sheriff, who’d be happy to see all vampires banished from town. Then really dead vamps start turning up—beheaded, crucified, and defanged—killed in the same gruesome manner that Alex’s father was murdered decades ago. For Alex, the professional has become way too personal.

Things get even more complicated when the FBPI sends in some unnervingly sexy backup: Alex’s one-time mentor, lover, and fiancé, Varik Baudelaire. Still stinging from the betrayal that ended their short-lived engagement, Alex is determined not to give in to the temptation that soon threatens to short-circuit her investigation.Like it or not, though, as the body count grows, and the public panic level rises, Varik may be her only hope to stop a relentless killer who’s got his own score to settle, and his own bloody past to put right.

ISBN-13: 978-0-553-59267-2
ISBN-10: 0-553-59267-X

Publisher: Dell
Format: Paperback
On Sale: July 6, 2010
Price: $7.99

Praise for BLOOD LAW:

“Jeannie Holmes has reinvented the vampire protagonist with style and a galloping plot. Alexandra Sabian is smart, forceful, and tormented by a past that someone has tapped into to murder vampires in small town Jefferson, Mississippi. BLOOD LAW is a rollercoaster ride, and Holmes combines an original take on the urban fantasy with a fast pace and classic suspense to deliver a series that readers will devour.” ~ Carolyn Haines, 2010 Harper Lee Award Winner and the author of the popular Sarah Booth Delaney mystery series and editor of DELTA BLUES

“Jeannie Holmes jumps onto the vampire scene fully charged with her spectacular debut novel, BLOOD LAW. This may be Holmes’ first jaunt into the publishing ring, but she’s far from a lightweight. Sexy, smart, and action-packed, Holmes never drops the ball as she takes the reader on a 3D rollercoaster ride they won’t soon forget. You’d better stand back, Sookie and turn up the glitter, Edward; there’s a new kid in town—and she means business!” ~ Deborah LeBlanc, author of Water Witch

“Another new voice makes a compelling debut in the urban fantasy genre. Set in a small Southern town, prejudice, fear and hatred bring Holmes’ story to a boiling point, as the heroine must face a complicated past and an uncertain future. Holmes gives every indication of being a promising new talent with a great future ahead!” (4 stars) ~ Jill M. Smith, RT Book Reviews

“…one of the book’s most excellent traits is the fascinating vampire mythos Holmes creates. … Urban fantasy fans will savor this wonderful new addition to the genre, and this reviewer eagerly awaits the sequel, Blood Secrets.”(5 tombstones) ~

“Not written like a novice, Holmes pens absorbing plotlines and smoldering characters like a pro in “Blood Law”. … The words virtually drip with sexual tension as Alex and Varik reunite in the search for a killer and Holmes, although new to the scene, never lets the temperature drop. The race to finish will make any fan of dark urban fantasy stand in line for the next installment.” ~ Suspense Magazine

“Fast paced and full of action, the story never flags, from the discovery of the first body to the exciting (and violent) finale. The characters are fascinating and well developed, but plenty is left for the future: this has excellent potential as a series. With a world similar to that of Kim Harrison’s Hollows series (including Black Magic Sanction, 2010) and a main character with much of the same style as Harrison’s Rachel Morgan, this makes a great read-alike for Harrison fans. Followers of Charlaine Harris’ Sookie Stackhouse, who appreciate the small-town southern setting (with vampires), are another good audience.” ~ Jessica Moyer, Booklist

“A page-turning debut thriller with a strong female lead–who happens to be a vampire–Jeannie Holmes’ BLOOD LAW is a unique and compelling paranormal police procedural, spiced with believable relationships, a wholly original vision of the vampire, and a strong statement on crimes of intolerance. Whether you like police procedurals, paranormal thrillers or just a damn good read, you’ll love BLOOD LAW–and develop a blood-craving for the next book in the series.” ~ Kelli Stanley, award-winning author of Nox Dormienda and City of Dragons

“The Southern Gothic atmosphere in BLOOD LAW seductively pulls you into a sultry world of vampires, ghosts, and bonds that run deeper than death. Holmes’s original take on the vampire mythology will leave you hungry for the next book.” ~ Rebecca Cantrell, award-winning author of A Trace of Smoke

“Blood Law shimmers with the mystical, dark energy of the undead–passionate, violent, and sexy as hell.” ~ Laura Benedict, author of Isabella Moon

“Alexandra Sabian, a take-no-crap Enforcer with the Federal Bureau of Preternatural Investigation, battles racist humans, angry vampires, and enigmatic ghosts in her quest to bring a vampire killer to justice in this delightful debut. Scary, funny, and sexy, BLOOD LAW is worth sinking your teeth into.” ~ Bekka Black, author of iDrakula